Filaretos

My name is Filaretos Vourkos and the last 10 years I have been working in the youth field. Although I studied Power Technology Engineering, a series of random coincidents were combined with my dream to contribute to a meaningful cause, and brought me to the youth work! Yes, life sometimes is hiding the most pleasant surprises for you! So here I am, making my dream real and creating a youth organization, K.A.NE., the Youth Centre of Kalamata and the Kalamata Street Festival.

However, this is not my main job. Additionally, I am working as a freelance trainer in non formal education seminars and consultant. Sometimes you can find me in the office, stuck in front of a computer, dealing with emails or bureaucratic issues, and other times running around organizing an event.

Hamid

I’m an architect, designer, portrait painter and environmentalist. I was born in Teheran,  Iran. I’m living in Kalamata and Stockholm. I prefer to live in freedom and clean environment.

Jelena

Hi, I’m Jelena Scepanovic, an EVS coordinator in K.A.NE. and the volunteer of the Youth center. I came from Montenegro 2012 as an EVS volunteer. I really liked the idea of the Youth center and the work that KANE does, so I decided to stay and be part of it.

Nantiana

Hello…I am Nadiana and I am 25 years old. I have studied Greek philology, specialized in linguistics in Patras. Since the last 3 years that I am back in Kalamata I teach greek to foreigners in the youth center of Kalamata and to the evs volunteers of KANE. The last months I am part of the RnD department of KANE and that makes me really happy as team working,cooperation and moments of joyful are main parts of our daily job. I also am, a culture and travel lover and I really enjoy helping in organizing festivals.. my moto…#travelasmuchasyoucan

Afroditi

I am Afrodite and I am one of the coordinators for the D.R.E.A.M. project. I am very excited for Hamid’s innovative idea. This project means a lot to me because we will all acquire some new and very interesting skills.

Anna

I am a member of R.A.D.I.Kal.A., and an interior designer. I am hoping to raise environmental awareness in Kalamata.

Mina

#ProjectThoughts: #Day1 – wait…Rewind…

I’m Mina and I’m #LongTerm #EVS in K.A.NE. since #October2017. When I steped out of the airplane I fell in #love with #Greece and later on, when I got more familiar with my #project I knew this is exactly where I want to be! #DREAMjob

#FastForward: when I first heard about the #DREAM #ShortTerm #group #EVS I got very #excited to have the #chance to be a part of it so I took the #opportunity! ^_^ – feeling #excited

#Visibility: – feeling awesome @kanekalamata! Awesome #opportunity to coordinate #SocialMedia 😉 #DREAMcomeTrue

#MidnightThoughts: – at the end of the day, it’s the #vibe that counts! – feeling better every day 😉

Đức

Hello everyone! My name is Duc and I’m originally from Vietnam but have been residing in a small but beautiful city of Fredericton in the province of New Brunswick, Canada for the last 2 years. I’m currently studying Philosophy in Interdisciplinary Leadership at the University of New Brunswick and I am in Kalamata for my international internship which is a requisite of my degree. I chose K.A.N.E. because its objective aligns with what I’m passionate about such as youth development, civic engagement, social inclusion and volunteerism.

Ana

I’m Ana, I’m 23 years old and I come from Croatia. I am a student of Croatian and English language and literature I joined the D.R.E.A.M. to learn more about recycling and preserving the environment. And of course – to enjoy beautiful Greece! 🙂

Inês

My name is Inês, I come from Portugal and I am a nature lover! I’ve worked for 3 years at an NGO, also participated in other volunteer actions. Joining the D.R.E.A.M., I believe I will raise my competences on working on an educational project about environment. Because of the multidimesional topics of this project: plastic wastes, sports, teaching at schools, learning by doing.

Joeline

Hey I’m Joeline, my friends call me Jules. I am a 20-year-old student from Germany, who loves to travel and learn more about new cultures. I love action and do a lot of sports and I also ride motorcycle. I am passionate about the nature, food and cooking, as well as languages (I speak English, German, Spanish and a little bit Italian). I am a funny, cheerful and active person and looking forward to the results of this amazing EVS!

Ivan

People are divided for a two groups: thinkers and doers. I will prefer to let my actions speak louder than my words. But anyway, I think life is worth to be lived. This project gave me a chance to live my life the way I wanted to. And I’m not taking it for granted. And you know what? I don’t take a clean world as granted neither. We all need to put our contribution in.  #CrazyRussian

Gabriella

I’m a girl half Italian and half Venezuelan. I was born in Venezuela in 1993 and moved with my family to Italy when I was eight years old. I’m 24 years old, at the moment I’m out of work. I practice a martial art which I’m a enthusiast called Kendo. My hobbies are practicing various physical activities, drawing and painting, listening to rock music. I’ve also had a little experience in theater by taking some classes recently. See you soon!

Josefin

My name is Josefin and I am a 24 year old student from Sweden. To go on adventures and being on/in the water is something i love.

Maja

Hello, my name is Maja, I’m 25 and from Croatia. I mastered Environmental engineering and currently looking for a job. This recycling project seemed as a perfect opportunity for my future career.

Chloe

Hey, I’m Chloe and I am an extrovert, open-minded and helpful character. I am Greek, living in Germany and I have also studied in Finland. I believe that all this helped me in my personal development and that I’ve gained a lot from an intercultural point of view.

Marco

I´m 27 years old. I´m journalist but now I´m unemployed. I like doing sports, listening music, going out with my friends. I considered myself like a person responsible, hard-working, positive and cheerful. Also I like speaking about , politics, social troubles, etc…

Sabīne

I’m the one who always is eco-friendly. I like doing sports, like gymnastic or swimming. I’m very kind and a reliable person. I’m into making healthy meals.

Amitis

I’m Amitis and here are some fun facts about me:

  • I speak Swedish, English and Farsi.
  • My favourite animals are birds.
  • Favourite food is cheese, anything deep fried.
  • I’m passionate about intersectionality, behavioural sciences and children’s rights and welfare.
  • Hobbies include watching/sharing funny animal videos, bar hopping, dancing and travelling.

Alba

I’m Alba, I’m 23 and I was born in Madrid (Spain) where I’ve lived during all my life. I’ve studied media and audiovisual communication and I work for a Spanish TV channel. In my free time, I love practicing sports, I play in a football team in my village, but I really love any kind of sports. I also like writing or taking photos. I consider myself patient, peaceful, active and a bit absent-minded.

Anamarija

Hi, I’m Anamarija from Zadar, Croatia. I came to Kalamata as an EVS volunteer because I was fascinated with the idea of recycling plastic into sail boats. I’m looking forward to learning new things and meeting new people.

Francesca

Travel is the best way we have to know, to shake off our beliefs, to open our mind and to learn. Learn a lot. As Chatwin says, “Distraction. Fantasy. Change of fashion, food, love and landscape. We need them as the air we breathe.” I am a young architect who wants to work for a more social and human architecture that can really improve people’ lives.

Salah

My name’s Salah Abdikarim, originally from Somalia but currently living in Italy. I’m open-minded, I like listening to elders about history, ancient facts and I like to visit historical sites. I also enjoy learning about new cultures and new languages. I like playing football, cycling, games, listening music, watching movies and motorbike competitions.